Tags

,

I’ve been thinking a whole lot lately about the goals that I wanted to focus on for the next year.  I’ve decided to challenge myself to a year of self betterment through learning and developing Christlike Attributes.  At first I thought I would study an attribute every two weeks, but then with the wisdom of my sweet husband came to the realization that some attributes will take me longer than just two weeks to learn and develop.  It was suggested that  each week I do an evaluation of the attribute, and to better reach this end I will make SMART goals – these are goals that are:

  • Specific  – what exactly do I want to accomplish?  This is the 6 W’s – who, what, which, when, where, why.
  • Measurable – I will track the progress that I have made and measure the outcomes of my study and growth.   I ask myself – how much, how many, how will I know when I have accomplished my goal.  I will record my journey and through reviewing my daily observations I can find patterns to self defeating behaviors and what actually helps me move forward.
  • Attainable, action oriented – obviously I want to actually achieve my goals.  The best way to do so is to plan carefully.  I will create my specific objectives and the steps to how I will get to my goal.  I will also record the particular results that I am looking for.  What will it look like when I have started to cultivate the characteristics and virtues that will best help me become a better person. Do I have or can I get the resources needed for this goal?  Will this goal make me stretch?  Is it too easy or too hard?  If it is too easy how can I increase the difficulty to build those virtues?  If it is too difficult how can I break it down into manageable steps?
  • Realistic, relevant – Kind of tied a bit with attainable, but takes it a bit further  I need to make sure that I am not making a goal that is just too high.  I need to make sure that my goal is feasible.  I’m a procrastinator and sometimes I struggle with committing to something.  I need to make sure that I review and revise the goal when it is necessary.
  • Time bound -When I set a time line for myself I am sending a subconscious message to myself that will then have me automatically start working toward the end in mind.  Not only am I setting a date for completion of the goal (or a review time to evaluate how far I’ve come) I will create a timeline.  The specific dates on particular parts of a goal – kind of like interim due dates, and finally what can be done today?

So there are the steps to go about accomplishing what I have set up for myself.  Next I will define the attributes/virtues/characteristics that I want to focus on – and explain why I have chosen them.  Tune in next time.  I’ve been working on this post for almost two hours now (okay, I have worked on this while watching S.H.I.E.L.D. and Covert Affairs with my husband while both of us worked on our computers – great quality time, I know.).  It is time for this mama to go to bed.

To be continued . . . . . . . .

