Tags

The name Chase has a duel purpose –  It provides anonymity to our middle child (He almost ended up with the name Chase Henry – but his brother insisted on calling him something else and we went with it).  It also is a perfect description of our life with him.  He is constantly on the go, and we often find ourselves in hot pursuit!  I start of at the beginning – because there always is one –

Once upon a time . . . .  Thursday, February 22, 2007 to be exact,  I left the house for my non-stress test and  ultrasound to check on Chase’s breathing and movement.  I already felt nervous, the night before I noticed a drastic drop in his movement.  He was such a squirmy baby.  I would lie in bed and just feel him on the outside of my tummy and smile.  Not the night before.  I felt butterfly movements.  During the test I was pretty naive.  I didn’t notice the stressed out looks on the nurses face and I just thought he was sleeping through the ultrasound,  even after I drank an entire bottle of orange juice.

When the Doctor came in I was hit with a cold wave of fear and terror.  He believed our baby had the cord wrapped around his neck and was not handling the stress of it very well.  He scheduled me to come in the next day for another non-stress test. Friday Scott went off to work, leaving me with a wonderful friend.  She drove me to the Doctor’s office at 9am and sat with me through the appointment.  Chase continued to struggle so my OB sent me to the hospital to prepare for a C-section.  At 5:10PM on February 23, 2007 Chase came wailing into this world.  The relief I felt was immense, but short lived.

He was small, 5 pounds 6 ounces and 18 inches long.  Scott brought him over to me, wrapped up in a blanket.    A team of doctors and nurses insisted that Scott quickly bring Chase back, I didn’t get to touch him, kiss him, nothing.  I just got to lay there all by myself as Daddy stayed with the baby and I went to recovery.  Chase continued to struggle breathing and the doctor called St. Louis Children’s for a medevac team.   They were taking my baby two hours away from me.  Right before they took him to the helicopter the medevac doctors brought him to my bed in an incubator and I got to touch his head.  Seven years later I can still feel the downy softness of him.


I felt fear, excitement, and worry here.

Daddy Getting Ready

24 hours after Chase was born my husband finally got to hold him.  My mother arrived from Seattle just in time to take pictures of that first moment. They both got to hold my baby before I did!

24 hours after Chase was born my husband finally got to hold him. My mother arrived from Seattle just in time to take pictures of that first moment. They both got to hold my baby before I did!

Pure bliss, my first time getting to hold my miracle!

Pure bliss, my first time getting to hold my miracle!

Dee was so excited to get to hold his little brother

Dee was so excited to get to hold his little brother

I can’t believe seven year have passed. He came into this world fighting for every breath, and he continues to be a fighter to this very day.  I am so proud to be his mother, to watch him grow, develop, mature.  I’m grateful that he is a part of my life, and that I have the opportunity to be a part of his life.  

Happy Birthday Bubba!!!

At one he showed an early interest in water.

At one he showed an early interest in water.

In the doghouse, literally.  He loves being in small spaces!

In the doghouse, literally. He loves being in small spaces!

 

He's such a good big brother, as long as she plays the way he wants her too.

He’s such a good big brother, as long as she plays the way he wants her too.

556

At four he got to sit on his first firetruck. He has been in love with firefighters ever since!!

End of March 2012 151

When Chase was five I started to notice how serious he looked when on roller coasters and fast moving rides, like this merry-go-round. Afterward he would finally smile and ask to do it again.

IMG_20130309_130413

Often Chase gets overstimulated when we go to the store. Sitting in the cart with a tablet is a great way to deal with the sensory overload. His sister on the other hand. Well, she is actually pretending to sleep on the ground. You should have heard the snores coming from her!

2014-01-16 22.17.28

He’s seven now. I can’t believe it.

