Tags

, ,

Every time I visit my mother I pull out the photo albums and carefully look at my life through the eyes of of my mother.  I remember sitting down the first time with Chase and looking at the photos together.  Once again, my mother stood behind the lens and captured a moment of my life, she is good at that!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Easter 2008

In January the two little ones and I flew to Seattle to visit Grandma.  We had a blast, and mom once again pulled out the pictures.  This time was special.  In June fire destroyed my childhood home. Only three rooms survived with minimal damage, and thankfully my step-dad, younger sister escaped easily. Firefighters rescued my mother through the window and treated all three for fire smoke inhalation. It could have been so much worse, but my family survived and so did a few of our treasures.   My children had the opportunity to view my childhood, and I got super emotional.

When I turned two my father received orders to serve the Air Force in Ismir, Turkey.  My mother, sister and I stayed in the United States for the first few months, however my father soon decided it would be best to bring his small family out with him.  My mother reluctantly packed her two small children and headed to Turkey.  Thirty seven years later she admitted that she left with much trepidation, however it ended up being one of the most personal growth experiences of her life.  It taught her independence, a love of a new culture, some fine recipes, and increased her family by one child.

I don’t remember much of Turkey, we moved back to the states when I was barely four years old.  I do remember my sister Stacie being kidnapped by an old lady with dementia (obviously my mom found her), walking down a dark stairwell as a mother and her small son watched us with dark intense eyes, and going shopping in a market with crochet grocery bags, talk about the ultimate reusable grocery bag.

I love hearing the stories my mother tells as we look at the pictures.  These stories have become living memories in my mind.  I remember dancing bears, but I’m not sure if I remember them from my own memory or the borrowed memory from behind the lense:

For some reason this memory in my mind includes a bear with a vest.  Maybe I saw more than this bear and actually have a memory?  Who knows.

For some reason this memory in my mind includes a bear with a vest. Maybe I saw more than this bear and actually have a memory? Who knows.

My parents took us sight seeing often when, and we visited quite a few Greek temples and saw many statues.

I am the slightly taller girl on the right.  My sister and I are "Irish Twins" and are the same age for two weeks each year.  In fact, we were often confused for fraternal twins when we were younger.

I am the slightly taller girl on the right. My sister and I are “Irish Twins” and are the same age for two weeks each year.

image

Conspiracy Theory . . . . . I am being held by my mother on the very spot believed to be where Brutus planned the plot to kill Ceasar.
image

You may not be able to make out my face, however those bright red pants are hard to miss. I have always had a healthy fear of water, for some reason they make me feel a little nervouse. This stream is in the shadow of Apollo’s temple. King Midas is said too have washed off his “golden curse” in this very stream. To this very day (well, 1976) gold is still periodically found in this body of water. King Midas’ tomb is 150 miles upstream in Ankara.

I was introduced to these historical masterpieces at the age of two. Is it no wonder that I grew up to be fascinated by history.

