Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday Chase was finally able to see a child psychiatrist.   We have been waiting months to get in to see one.   She is the same one we saw in October that informed us that he did not cognitively meet the requirements of the intensive outpatient therapy program, and recommended we get him in to see a psychiatrist.  

Yesterday in her office Chase was flying higher then a kite and for the life of him couldn’t slow down.   He was all over the place.  We discussed his educational and emotional progress and she felt he was doing well on the Resperidone.

“He has gained a lot of weight, yes?” She lifted up his shirt and grabbed his belly.  He giggled, me I felt a bit affronted.   She didn’t ask permission, didn’t warn him, nothing. 

“Is he always this hyper? ”  She quarried, as she jotted notes. 

I responded emphatically, “Yup, his teacher even mentioned that one on one instruction is difficult because his mind is running 5000 miles per minute.”  (When I told my husband this he laughed – totally like father like son.)

“Hmmm, have you tried medicine for Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity?”

“Yes, each one made him violent and agitated.”   I knew where this was headed. 

“I want to start him on Stratera.”

“You know my husband and I really don’t want him on more medicine.  His teacher says he is learning and they are handling his hyperactivity. ”  I held my breath waiting for her response.

“Well, I want to take him off of the Mirtazapine since both of his current meds have a weight gain side effect.   I want to put him on Tenex which will help slow him down a bit and should help him sleep at night.”

image

Ummmmmm,  yeah.  The new medicine slowed him down.  Here he is at the bank.  He came over to give me a hug.  He started to rock me, which is one way for him to self soothe.  Next thing I know I have dead weight. 

An hour later we woke him up and went swimming.   Right before we got in the pool we gave him his second dosage.   He sat in the water sticking close to daddy for about 45 minutes.   To his brother’s despair he was then ready to leave.  Chase maintained he was hungry. 

image

Never even ate a bite.  I now sit at the mall food court while Scott has Dee and Emma and I am writing this blog. 

I’m not sure how I feel about the Tenex, or his psychiatrist.   I’ve done some reading and I hear that some kids take a few weeks to get over the sleepy side affect.  I don’t like how irritable he has been today.  Nor do I like this nearly comatose state he has been in all day.  The doctor warned us it might cause drowsiness, and told us to break the medicine in half if we need to. 

At least she gave us a letter for school with a new diagnosis.   His last one was PDD-NOS but that is no longer considered on the spectrum and the psych examiner at his school told us to get an ASD diagnosis.  I kind of cooked my head to one side when I read the doctors note. 

“Chase* is under treatment for his diagnosis of Autistic Spectrum Disorder.   I hope you can provide Chase* with an IEP that will help him with development and learning.”

That is the first time I have heard it stated as Autistic Spectrum Disorder and not Autism Spectrum Disorder.    Hmmmmmmm.  Hey, we’ve got a diagnosis, right?

image

   And an hour later he still slept, and when we woke him he stayed groggy forever.  Not very restive sleep.  I am surprised with the echo in the food court.  He normally doesn’t handle the noise.   I think we are in for along night, unless his last dose knocks him out too.

*I changed the name in the doctor note to protect Chase’s privacy.

