As a mother and educator I wholeheartedly agree and support this. I now have a list of authors I want to check out.

The Indignant Teacher

There’s not a person in America…or likely, the world…who doesn’t know the name Maya Angelou. She is not only an author, but in my opinion, one of the most inspirational women of our time. Dr. Angelou has recently voiced her disagreement regarding President Obabma’s national education policy, along with 120 other famous authors.

Judy Blume carried me, personally, through my pre-teen years. I remember being in 5th grade and getting a box set of Blume’s books for Christmas. My older cousins told my mother to take, “Then Again, Maybe I Won’t” out of the set because it was “too risqué” for a 10 year old. I hated them for that, even though, at the time, I didn’t know what “risqué” meant! But I do admit to practicing the exercises in “Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret?”…”I must, I must, I must increase my bust”; I don’t think there’s a girl of my generation…

View original post 800 more words

