Tags

, ,

Re-read The Books

Students will become “active” readers by having a set purpose for reading, they will make predictions, question what they have read, use context clues to determine meaning, and utilize prior knowledge to build their comprehension skills (Duke & Pearson, 2002,). Repeated reading is an integral part of increasing both fluency and comprehension.  Back in 1979 S. Jay Samuels developed the technique of repeated reading to “improve reading fluency on indicators such as word recognition accuracy, reading speed, and oral reading expression” (Samuels, 2002, p. 175).  Even the National Reading Panel in 2000 agreed that repeated reading positively affected fluency, reading speed, and comprehension among students learning to read.  It totally makes sense.

Bloom’s Taxonomy

When I taught in the school system our district had each teacher place a copy of Bloom’s Taxonomy somewhere in the classroom.  In addition to this we had to incorporate one of the six levels in each of our lesson plans.  I haven’t thought about Bloom’s Taxonomy for almost two years (that is when I took time out of teaching to finish my Masters degree and stay at home with my two kiddos.).  Bloom’s Taxonomy kept flashing through my brain.

I found a great version here.  Now, this isn’t the version they gave us, it was a boring wheel.  I love this one and am planning on printing it out, laminating it, and putting it by my desk to help remind me of a key to getting my three little ones to participate in higher thinking.

Analyzing is an important part of learning.  When we investigate, compare, contrast, explain, identify and examine we participate in a “transactional  process in which students bring meaning to and take meaning from the books they read and discuss” (Tavers & Tavers, 2008, p. 90).

Students will create a matrix comparing and contrasting different aspects of Cinderella stories across cultures to determine understanding.

  1. Review Raisel’s Riddle, The Egyptian Cinderella, The Korean Cinderella, and The Rough-Faced Girl, The Irish Cinderlad. 
  2. Create a matrix including similarities across characters, magic, use of animals, going to a ball, similarity in clothing (the shoe), ect.  Compare matrixCompare Matrix Answer Key(Can I tell you how excited that I figured out that I can include word documents into WordPress????)
  3. Writing down how Cinderella, Yeh-Shen and one of the other stories are similar is a rehearsal activity for students to prepare for an essay.  When they gathers their ideas and put them in a visual format they will be able to recall the information needed.

Write a four paragraph essay

My son Dee doesn’t like to read or write when he is with us.  I think because he only sees his dad and siblings so rarely he thinks the weekend should be going to the movies, swimming at the Y, or the park.  I have started to do “Family Learning Times” so that he sees we are all learning together.  It is important for him to see the connection between reading and writing, and to be an example for his siblings.  I found several great formats for a compare/contrast essay for the kids to work on this summer that is simple to use and includes the chart he needs. Chase will draw a picture and then tell me the story in his own words, as well as attempt to write the story,  which is part of the Language Experience Approach.

Resources:

Samuels, S.J. (2002) Reading Fluency: Its Development and assessment.  In S. J. Samuels & A. E. Farstrup (Eds.), What Research has to say about reading instruction (3rd ed.)Newark, DE: International Reading Association, Inc.

Tavers, B.E. & Tavers, J.F. (2008).  Children’s literature: A developmental perspective. Boston:  Wiley and Sons

Linked With

